The Pocket Watch Gallery

A place to show and discuss your vintage watches
Amor Vincit Omnia
CW-watches: 4

The Pocket Watch Gallery

Post by Amor Vincit Omnia »

Back in September I started the Vintage Gallery with a view to getting together a photographic database of vintage watches to help people who were just getting into older watches, or just interested. To see this thread grow and to see all the beautiful watches come out has been absolutely brilliant - huge thanks to all the contributors. :thumbup:

I'd like to try something similar with pocket watches. Again, there are plenty of people on here with some lovely examples, and to have them all in one place would be really interesting and informative. An additional motive here is that I'm a complete novice eyeing up the slippery slope, having bought my first one a couple of weeks ago. I'm doing plenty of homework, but I know there is considerable expertise here. I have a feeling that I may be considering the wristwatch collection as done for a while at least, but I wouldn't mind picking up a little collection of pocket watches.

So, what have you got? Mine has been featured recently, but to recap:
Silver Lip "Chronomètre" (not a chronometer, but that was what they called them), French, best guess 1920s.

Let's see 'em, folks! :D
Steve
Linguist; retired teacher; pilgrim; apprentice travel writer

Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, kill nothing but time

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. (Max Ehrmann)
chrisjohnson
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 40
LE-two: yes
LE-three: yes
LE-fourb: yes

Re: The Pocket Watch Gallery

Post by chrisjohnson »

My family watch. It belonged to my great grandfather Joseph Martin

Watch has scratched on the inner case Jos Martin 1907