Any book/word nerds who will appreciate this purchase?

Here you can post stuff that is not related to Christopher Ward
jkbarnes
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 3

Any book/word nerds who will appreciate this purchase?

Post by jkbarnes »

How nerdy is it that I just bought a 25+ year old edition of the Shorter Oxford English Dictionary to add to my library? This is the 4th Edition, first published in ‘93, the year I graduated college. The current edition is the 6th, and it would cost 3 times the price I paid for this one (that edition is still on my Amazon wishlist, by the way; I’ll add it at some point). For those who don’t know, this is the abridged version of the 20 volume Oxford English Dictionary. I’d really like the full OED, but can’t quite justify dropping $1,200+ on a dictionary.

B02FBF36-1844-4214-93C6-0C222B4C5E3A.jpeg
Drew
missF
CW Forum Poet Laureate
CW Forum Poet Laureate

Re: Any book/word nerds who will appreciate this purchase?

Post by missF »

I was just thinking recently how outdated my dictionary must be (have just checked and it’s from 2006...), but also how much I love it as an object and a functioning thing. Online dictionaries don’t have the same attraction.

When I’m writing poetry I have my dictionary, thesaurus and rhyming dictionary on the table. I usually use my dictionary for relatively straightforward words, but words where I’m not sure if I’m using that word with exactly the right nuance.

On thinking about it, when I’m writing poetry I do become a total word nerd or even a word fiend. As my writing class friend told me a long time ago ‘novelists agonise over paragraphs or chapters; poets agonise over single words’ :lol:
watching you fail in your quest for a “one watch” has been great entertainment
Watchaholic

‘Imprudently spendy’
Thomcat00
jkbarnes
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod

Post by jkbarnes »