Precision, Rate and Accuracy in watches: a layman's view

Here you can post stuff that is not related to Christopher Ward
Amor Vincit Omnia
CW-watches: 4

Post by Amor Vincit Omnia »

I’m no horological expert, so please excuse me if I get some of this wrong, and please step in and correct if I make mistakes!

We occasionally get threads on the forum where people talk about the “accuracy” of their watches, especially with watches performing or not within manufacturer’s stated (or COSC) specs.

There are three words we need to understand here: precision, accuracy and rate.

Let’s begin with the obvious. We would all be delighted if all of our watches performed with total accuracy, in other words +/- 0.0 s/d. A watch running at 28,800 bph will need to beat 691,200 times in 24 hours. Add or subtract 8 from that total and you have a rate of 1 second per day. Expressed as a percentage that’s phenomenally high. Even a watch deviating by 5 s/d is well over 99.99% accurate. So why don’t all watches achieve it? Let’s look at the targets on the image.

acc.jpg

The answer is down in great part to precision. Think of this as an expression of how well the watch performs in relation to itself. Position and temperature are two of the biggest factors determining this. There is also something called isochronism, which I don’t really understand, but I read that it’s about maintaining an even torque as the spring winds down. The more consistently a watch movement performs over a range of positions, temperatures and states of torque in the mainspring, in theory the more precise it is. The marks on the target are tightly grouped.

In theory, a precise movement will give you a steady and predictable “rate” (average daily gain or loss), which should mean that it is easier to regulate the movement so that it performs closer to +/- zero.