Broken watch sent back to CW but.....

Discuss Christopher Ward watches
Enkidu
CW-watches: 1

Broken watch sent back to CW but.....

Post by Enkidu »

did I mess up by sending the whole original box and paperwork too?

It had been over 5 days from my first email to start process to finally getting a DHL shipping label.
I read all the directions and no where did it say not to send it in original box.

So to back up a bit..This is the first watch Ive ever sent back to any company, so Im a noob there but I was reading another thread elsewhere about a CW return and they only sent back the watch nothing else.
So....Will that be an issue? Hoping US customs doesnt get confused that its a return repair item-they can be quite officious sometimes

and yeah I already feel dumb for not asking here first but life is busy and this issue is just one of lots things I have going on. :-|
Celebrate Schadenfreude!
ttix67

Re: Broken watch sent back to CW but.....

Post by ttix67 »

I think it should be fine. I sent back two watches to CW - one for time regulation and most recently, for a piece of lint/dust underneath the crystal. The first time I sent it was the watch head only and I did not have to pay any customs (it was marked as such when it returned back to me.)

This second time I asked CW and they told me to keep it in the original packaging so as to minimize any damage in transit. I did as they were told so I'm in the same boat as you. But again, I think they'll mark it as a repair so as to avoid double import duties.
RichM
Senior Guru
Senior Guru
CW-watches: 4

Post by RichM »

I'm in the UK and sent mine back for repair in the original packaging. I'm assuming - expecting - it comes back to me that way!
H0rati0
Senior Forumgod
Senior Forumgod
CW-watches: 4

Post by H0rati0 »

It comes down to secure packaging - DHL have their own guidelines, the principle being two layers with good padding between.

https://www.dhl.com/content/dam/downloa ... ide_en.pdf